Posted on

a dollar, written by Toni L.A. Cross 11/30/09



a dollar
oh for a dollar
a crisp paper bill
that green and white currency
a poor man’s fortune told
 
candy bars
of flavors galore
and endless trinkets
and burgers or fries
any of these could be mine
if only...
 
oh for a dollar
a crisp paper bill
that green and white currency
a poor man’s fortune told
 
lollypops and candy canes
icecream sandwiches
gumballs and soda
any of these could be mine
if only...
 
oh for a dollar
a crisp paper bill
that green and white currency
a poor man’s fortune told
 
counting out pennies
and a nickel or two
wishing for a quarter
or dime at least
put them together and maybe i’ll have....
 
a dollar
 
 
 
About goatgirlbookworm

My name is Toni Cross, and I was raised on a farm in the far north of the United States. I love to read and write and I hope to use those hobbies in a greater way in the days to come. One of my passions is using whatever influence I have to make a difference in the world.

3 responses to “a dollar, written by Toni L.A. Cross 11/30/09

  1. gregbrown

    I like the formatting of this piece, it intrigues me, although I have to say that I can only think of the mcdonalds commercial

  2. opoetoo ⋅

    makes me think of my school days when kids would brag about having a “case quarter”. not some dime nickel nasty combination ,a real case quarter..
    the dollar is the new case quarter – “a poor mans fortune told”

    excellent

Leave a Reply

