Posted on

My New Year’s Resolution: What I Plan to Read in 2010– Feel Free to Add Your Book Suggestions

I will be updating this list and crossing out books as I read them. Perhaps I will even post my thoughts on the various titles as they are completed.
 
1. Jane Eyre: by Charlotte Bronte    I rather like this one! Two thumbs up! And the A&E movie is great too.

2. The Portrait of Dorian Grey: by Oscar Wilde

3. The Awakening: by Kate Chopin  Yuck! officially horrid… I read it, though. Affairs and suicide- what cheery crapola.

4. Heart of Darkness: by Joseph Conrad

5. Things Fall Apart: by Chinua Achebe

6. Walden: by Henry David Thoreau

7. Pride and Prejudice: by Jane Austen Ugh.

8. A Room of One’s Own: by Virginia Woolf

9. To Have and Have Not: by Ernest Hemingway Violent, depressing, and he switches narrators constantly! If it was made into a movie again, the main character should be played by Sean Connery.

10. Republic by Plato

11. The Man Who Laughed by Victor Hugo

12. Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy

13. The Shack by William Young A very interesting book. My official overall opinion of the book is not yet settled. I have issues with some of the theological components, but at the same time, the message of God’s love is quite profound.

14. The Diary of a Wimpy Kid by Jeff Kinney   Read. About what I expected: a uncool middle-schooler’s survival.

15. The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick

16. Cracker! by Cynthia Kadohata

17. Schooled by Gordon Korman

18. A Crooked Kind of Perfect by Linda Urban  A lovely little story about overcoming fear, stepping out of comfort zones, what really matters in life, and how our dreams may not turn out according to plan, but that’s not always a bad thing.

19. Blue Lipstick by John Grandits  Absolutely delightful! A little young for me (about a highschool age girl.) The format is fun! All poetry in different shapes and such.

20. No Talking by Andrew Clements Strange, but a neat snapshot of non-verbal communication.

21. Middle School is Worse Than Meatloaf by Jennifer Holm

22. Robot Dreams by Sara Varon

23. Emmy and the Incredible Shrinking Rat by Lynne Jonell

24. Beneath My Mother’s Feet by Amjed Qamar

25. Knucklehead. by Jon Scieszka

26. Greetings from Nowhere by Barbara O’Connor

27. Mogo, the Third Warthog by Donna Jo Napoli Suprisingly delightful! By the end I was in love with a sweet baboon and a rebel warthog.

28. Found by Margaret Peterson Haddix Excellent book! But not good to read late at night while trying to fall asleep. I didn’t expect a sci-fi/mystery/thriller… but it was a pleasant surprise! I can’t wait for book two!

29. Shooting the Moon by Frances O’Roark Dowell This one deserves a wow. What a stunning sensitive, yet real picture of the Vietnam War.

30. 90 Minutes in Heaven by Don Piper

31. Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers

32. Heaven by Randy Alcorn

33. Swimming in the Sea of Talmud by Michael Katz & Gershon Schwartz

34. The Amazing Adventures of the Jewish People by Max I. Dimon

35. ON JUDAISM by Emanuel Feldman

36. TO BE A JEWISH WOMAN by Lisa Aiken

37. TRIUMPH OF SURVIVAL by Berel Wein

38. The Dark Side of Islam by R. C. Sproul and Abdul Saleeb

About goatgirlbookworm

My name is Toni Cross, and I was raised on a farm in the far north of the United States. I love to read and write and I hope to use those hobbies in a greater way in the days to come. One of my passions is using whatever influence I have to make a difference in the world.

9 responses to “My New Year’s Resolution: What I Plan to Read in 2010– Feel Free to Add Your Book Suggestions

  1. misterypg

    Ishmael & My Ishmael by Daniel Quinn

  2. Rose ⋅

    Ok, so… Pride and prejudice I totally loved. I enjoyed Anna Karenina until some point and kinda liked Jane Eyre. With Dorian Gray I am still struggling, and I think I found some new things to dive into on your list! 😀
    I wrote on my blog this summer about the books I read/was reading till that day and at the beginning of the year I will have another post about books.
    Aren’t books amazing? 🙂
    I make only one suggestion.. Tracy Chevalier – Girl With a Pearl Earring [very well written]

    • I have read The Girl With a Pearl Earring… the movie made me made because after the BBC’s Pride and Prejudice, Colin Firth was Darcy to me. lol. Anyhow- yes, books ARE amazing! (I’m a librarian.) I attempted to read Anna Karenina once before and only made it about 3/4ths of the way through. She is SO annoying! Thanks for your input… happy reading!

  3. Rachel ⋅

    I’m just still in shock that you haven’t read Pride and Prejudice yet!

    You might also try “North and South” by Elizabeth Gaskell.

    • Is this your version of returning me email, Rachel??? Ahem. And as far as P & P is concerned, I have previously read just enough to know it makes a better movie than book. But I will completely read it for the sake of THE LIST.

  4. Kate ⋅

    Let me know what you think when you read Hugo…I didn’t care for it. Really wanted to read it but not much text…too many pictures and not enough of an interesting plot line for me. I finished it out just to say I did. I didn’t read this whole list yet (currently babysitting so not spending tons of time on the computer) but I will. I need to make a list of books to read, but I am lucky if I read 1 a week right now.

  5. I’ve read a fair number of these books. Although it’s one of the shortest books on the list, Things Fall Apart: by Chinua Achebe, is certainly one of the best of the list. Pound for pound (or chapter for chapter, if you will) Things Fall Apart is as good as anything out there.

    Reading Things Fall Apart will take you just a couple days…I say it’s more than worth your time.

    Enjoy!

    Sherman

Leave a Reply

