Posted on

my passport’s temporary grave by Toni L.A. Cross, 2/17/10

looking outside
the snow-spattered pane

thinking of places
so far away

missing adventure
and feeling left behind

shuddering
like when a car passes

while you
are on the side of the road

everything seems
so very gray and dull

longing
for foreign colors and sounds

my passport
makes a strange papery moan

as if
it is trying to call from its temporary grave

About goatgirlbookworm

My name is Toni Cross, and I was raised on a farm in the far north of the United States. I love to read and write and I hope to use those hobbies in a greater way in the days to come. One of my passions is using whatever influence I have to make a difference in the world.

3 responses to “my passport’s temporary grave by Toni L.A. Cross, 2/17/10

  1. Dearest Toni,
    What happened?
    Hope everything is fine.
    hugs
    shakira

  2. Rachel ⋅

    I know how you feel. And I found some quotes you might like:

    “The World is a book, and those who do not travel read only one page.” (St. Augustine?)

    “I travel not to go anywhere, but to go. I travel for travel’s sake. The great affair is to move.” Robert Louis Stevenson

    “All journeys have secret destinations of which the traveler is unaware.” Martin Buber

    “Make voyages! Attempt them… there’s nothing else.” Tennessee Williams.

Leave a Reply

