Posted on

baby girl, goodbye: dedicated to baby Ava

Dear Readers,
 
A former coworker of mine just lost her beautiful baby girl to SIDS. No words can take away the pain of losing a baby, who was not even five months old. I don’t think we can ever understand why such things happen. At least not in this life. This poem is a tribute to Ava Charlotte.
 
baby girl
it’s so soon for you to go away
little angel
how I wish I could make you stay
 
you never said your first word
your mother never got to hear you say ma-ma
you never took your first toddling step
 
baby girl
it’s so soon for you to go away
little angel
how I wish I could make you stay
 
you never got to tie your own shoes
your daddy never got to teach you how to ride a bike
you never got to play your first game of hide n’ seek
 
baby girl
it’s so soon for you to go away
little angel
how I wish I could make you stay
 
you never had your first nervous day of school
your mommy never got to help you with your homework
you never got to kiss a blushing boy back
 
baby girl
it’s so soon for you to go away
little angel
how I wish I could make you stay
 
you never got to wear a cap and gown
your daddy never got to comfort you when your heart got broken
you never got to say “I do”
 
baby girl
there’s so much you’ll never know for real
little angel
there’s so much love and pain you’ll never feel
 
baby girl
for now, goodbye
little angel
be happy forever and free to fly
 
 
 
About goatgirlbookworm

My name is Toni Cross, and I was raised on a farm in the far north of the United States. I love to read and write and I hope to use those hobbies in a greater way in the days to come. One of my passions is using whatever influence I have to make a difference in the world.

4 responses to “baby girl, goodbye: dedicated to baby Ava

  1. That is so so sad. I am in tears. Only 5 months old. I remember Kelly at that age, she was her own sweet little person. Five months, the complete heartbreak.

    You did a beautiful thing in writing this, which must have been extremely sad to write.

  2. It was very sad to write. Such a beautiful baby and so brand new. Thank you for the compliment on the poem.

  3. This poem makes me cry 😦 Losing a child is indeed painful. No words can express how painful it is for a parent. i can’t type more.. I’m still crying. Very nice poem.

  4. dustus ⋅

    Heartbreaking poem. Well done. Thanks for sharing it.

Leave a Reply

