Posted on

shiny god… written by Toni L.A. Cross

do i serve

a shiny god

of metal?

do i serve

a pocket-size god

of paper?

do i live

for money?

does mere copper

control me?

does my world

revolve

around this

earthen

bit of matter?

About goatgirlbookworm

My name is Toni Cross, and I was raised on a farm in the far north of the United States. I love to read and write and I hope to use those hobbies in a greater way in the days to come. One of my passions is using whatever influence I have to make a difference in the world.

5 responses to “shiny god… written by Toni L.A. Cross

  1. Slamdunk

    Excellent verse–thanks for sharing.

  2. you’re welcome! thanks for reading!

  3. slpmartin

    You may not…but many people do…which is at the heart of the world’s problems today, yesterday, and tomorrow….excellent verse.

  4. :a pocket-size god of paper.” that, and this whole poem are just stunning. You got it going on in this one.

    Well, if you’re not above getting a little “materialism” in a good way into your life…:)

    And…

    this week, I’ve got upcoming give-ways on my blog — including 7 poetry books by Billy Collins and 7 of my cds, (of songs I wrote.) Come on over!! I am gifting things tO make others happy!

    xo

Leave a Reply

