Posted on

Dark Clouded Heart: A Villanelle Poem

My heart is filled with a brooding cloud                 
Poised to descend like a bird of prey           
Standing at attention tall and proud    
 
Dark like an ancient coroner’s shroud        
Everything solemn, stark and grey              
My heart is filled with a brooding cloud         
 
My heart resounds booming aloud                
Shaking in fear and one with dismay          
Standing at attention tall and proud          
   
A death of all hopes has been vowed        
There is no escape, but to yet to pray
My heart is filled with a brooding cloud         
 
Waiting for mercy to be endowed                            
Knowing only my God holds the darkness at bay       
Standing at attention tall and proud              
 
Filling the sky with a great crowd          
heavenly hosts in bright array              
Standing at attention tall and proud              
 

I have to thank Tomcat for the suggestion of writing a Villanelle poem.

http://tomcatintheredroom.wordpress.com/

About goatgirlbookworm

My name is Toni Cross, and I was raised on a farm in the far north of the United States. I love to read and write and I hope to use those hobbies in a greater way in the days to come. One of my passions is using whatever influence I have to make a difference in the world.

6 responses to “Dark Clouded Heart: A Villanelle Poem

  1. Grace

    This is beautiful. And the picture is perfectly suited to the poem 🙂

    Oh, and by the way. Your post about Le Mis? It has inspired me to read it and actually finish it this time. I’ve started it multiple times, but never gotten through the whole thing 🙂

  2. slpmartin

    Such a lovely image to go with the poem…the ending defines hope…enjoyed it very much Toni.

  3. Wow! I’m very, very flattered that you responded to my suggestion so quickly! What a brilliant villanelle! I especially love the third stanza/verse. I’m very impressed (and a little jealous) by your speed and ability. The lack of punctuation ( a single mid-poem comma) is intruiging as well…and quite unusual for a Villanelle.
    Amazing stuff! Your blog rocks.

    Tomcat.
    http://tomcatintheredroom.wordpress.com/

  4. Thanks. I studied poetic form for my Masters degree. If you REALLY want a challenge…try writing a Sestina.

Leave a Reply

