Posted on

Murphy’s Law

“Crud!” scalding coffee bit into her skin, totally soaking the front of her new blazer.

“Yup… it is going to be one of those days. I can see it now.” She stepped out of her sassy red high heels and stomped her way back up the stairs to her bedroom.

Dresses slid to the floor and hangers flew haphazardly as she pawed impatiently through her closet. Snatching a black cami and white vest from the closet, she yanked off her wet clothes and pulled on the clean ones.

She turned to exit the room, but her pantyhose caught on the threshold, making a long pale run from her toes to her knee. Great. She didn’t have time for this! Good thing her legs were tan… maybe no one would notice if she went with bare legs. Hopping on one foot, she pulled them off and left them dangling from the railing.

Outside, the wind was brisk and only one brave bird was singing. She jammed the key into her door and slid in. 6:53 AM. Lovely- that left only seven minutes!

“Wait- why is there a ribbon hanging out of my mailbox?” she mumbled to no one in particular. The brakes screeched loudly. As she reached for the door of the mailbox, she heard a very strange noise. It sounded like… a meow?

Sure enough. “What is a KITTEN doing in my mailbox? You most certainly aren’t a letter.” There wasn’t any time left to bring the kitten anywhere and she couldn’t just leave it in the cold.

“Okay, you. I guess it must be the day for things to go wrong. Good ol’ Murphy’s Law…”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Several years later~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Every customer who walks into Cherrytown Community Bank for the first time always asks the same question. Why is there a cat in the bank?

And they always get the same answer… it was just meant to be.

Oh, by the way? The cat’s name is Murphy.


 

About goatgirlbookworm

My name is Toni Cross, and I was raised on a farm in the far north of the United States. I love to read and write and I hope to use those hobbies in a greater way in the days to come. One of my passions is using whatever influence I have to make a difference in the world.

5 responses to “Murphy’s Law

  1. What a sweet story!! Thanks for writing this. 🙂 It made me smile.

  2. Rachel

    I don’t like cats, but I have to admit that this one is precious.

  3. Classic

    I love it!!!! Had me smiling with every sentence =D

Leave a Reply

