Posted on

A Daddy’s Advice on Love…

Advice is one of those things… if you need it, you probably don’t want it, and if you want it you probably don’t need it. 

A long time ago I got some very good advice I DID need… 

 

My dad once told me that love is more about really taking care of someone, than what you feel inside. He told me that the warm fluffies that people try and call love are nothing more than fickle passing emotions. 

Love is sticking around when you’d rather be anywhere else, love is helping, guiding, providing, protecting… 

Unfortunately, at the time, I was just a teenager and thought he was full of baloney. 

I didn’t want to hear about duty and loyalty and respect. Bor-ing! 

Guess what? At the ripe old age of almost twenty-two, I can now tell you…

my Dad was right. 

About goatgirlbookworm

My name is Toni Cross, and I was raised on a farm in the far north of the United States. I love to read and write and I hope to use those hobbies in a greater way in the days to come. One of my passions is using whatever influence I have to make a difference in the world.

2 responses to “A Daddy’s Advice on Love…

  1. So true. Love is not emotion at all. It creates emotion at time, and that emotion is amazing and wonderful to enjoy together. But Love is commitment. Ultimately, love is a choice. You choose to stick by a person even when it gets tough. You choose to love them even if they do not deserve it. You will enjoy a more enriched and blessed relationship now that you have learned what real love is. I wish all people could understand the way you do, but sadly, most people do not and then they wonder why their relationships always fall through. Thanks for sharing your story 🙂

  2. Grace

    It’s amazing how dad’s are always right when it comes to those things. Even though we don’t always appreciate it at the time…it’s good to keep it in the back of our minds for later 🙂

Leave a Reply

