Posted on

Where Did the Last 22 Years Go?

Okay, so maybe watching Tuck Everlasting the night before my birthday wasn’t such a great idea. At least I admit it.

Yesterday, I was sitting in the car for over 6 hours. In that time, I found myself thinking entirely too much about my life.  Oh! Gravity by Switchfoot was playing on the car stereo system and the lyrics of Faust, Midas, and Myself  kept vibrating through me in a soulish kind of echo.

The way all my memories were playing out like the highlights of a TV show, I almost wondered if we were destined to hit a truck and never get home alive! (Y’know, the whole “your-life-flashes-before-your-eyes-and-then-you-die” scenerio?)

I found myself wondering what I have really done with the time I’ve been given.

And how many more moments I have to live.

Waking up this morning and realizing that all my happy milestone birthdays have already passed by was a strange feeling.

My next so-called milestone is another eight years away and I’ve been told that one REALLY drives home the gravity of mortality.

Also, I’m reading this book called The Dream Giver which is all about discovering your dream in life and pursuing it.

So, anyway- here’s a list of things I want to do in life, before another 22 years go by:

Travel more

(Israel again, Europe, Asia …)

Go to college in some form

(Other than theology classes)

Teach

Have/adopt lots of kids

Write/Finish/Publish several books

About goatgirlbookworm

My name is Toni Cross, and I was raised on a farm in the far north of the United States. I love to read and write and I hope to use those hobbies in a greater way in the days to come. One of my passions is using whatever influence I have to make a difference in the world.

Leave a Reply

