Posted on

Poor, poor Ducky is so yummy…

When Plinky.com asked me "What's the funniest thing you've ever heard a child say?", a picture of my sister holding a fork filled my mind…

The Happy little Duck…

I grew up on a farm. My parents were city folks who dreamed of living in the quaint world of Doctor Doolittle. Somehow, real-life always turned out to be a little bit different from that.

One day, our darling doggies, both part Labrador, decided that a certain free-range duck looked like a good chew toy. Sadly, she was mortally wounded and my mom decided the kindest thing to do was to put her out of her misery.

And then, being a thrifty farmer, she served the duck for supper that night.

I instantly morphed into a teenage animal rights activist and at dinner, I refused to take a single bite. I was filled with indignance at the cruelty of eating a mistreated creature. My toddler sister, however, was won over by the orange sauce and delicious aroma.

Each time my sister would shovel a forkful of duck into her mouth, her eyes would roll back in pure delight and she would say "MMmmm! Ducky is yummy! I LIKE ducky!" Then, seeing the glare I shot her way, she would add on a tentative "Poor, poor ducky. Poor ducky is dead." Pretty soon "ducky is yummy" and "poor, poor ducky" started melding into the same seamless sentence.

Before long, everyone was in stitches -except for my sister- who couldn't figure out what was so funny and was impatiently awaiting another helping of Orange Duck.

Powered by Plinky

About goatgirlbookworm

My name is Toni Cross, and I was raised on a farm in the far north of the United States. I love to read and write and I hope to use those hobbies in a greater way in the days to come. One of my passions is using whatever influence I have to make a difference in the world.

Leave a Reply

