Posted on

The Smell of His Old T-Shirt… By Toni Cross

 

I bury my face/ in the worn softness/ of this old T-shirt

It smells of raw maleness and strength

A spicy bite of sweat/ lingers in the fabric

Mixing languidly/ with a sexy hint of shaving  cream

And mellowed out/ by the smooth scent of bar soap

I cuddle its familiarity/ against my cheek

Imagining the warm solid wall/ of his chest

Filling the space/ that now drapes limply in my hand

This sensory passport to home

Mentally teleports me/ into a hug

 

About goatgirlbookworm

My name is Toni Cross, and I was raised on a farm in the far north of the United States. I love to read and write and I hope to use those hobbies in a greater way in the days to come. One of my passions is using whatever influence I have to make a difference in the world.

4 responses to “The Smell of His Old T-Shirt… By Toni Cross

  1. j.kawa

    I met a Navy boy while vacationing in Florida in my youth… six surreal hours with this pilot who took command of my heart… when we were to part and go our separate ways, instead of a kiss goodbye, he gave me the shirt off of his back… It was magical… I still have it. And there are times, I do believe, it still smells like summer…

    Feel free to stop by and visit.

    http://www.thebeatenplath.wordpress.com

  2. slpmartin

    Just a lovely sensory image with this one Toni….experienced the same from a male point of view.

Leave a Reply

