Posted on

I Believe in _________, just call me a __________.

Plinky asked me the question: “Would you describe yourself as spiritual, religious, or something else?”

 

 

 

I define myself as relational. I believe that God created us for relationship with Him and each other. In essence, that sums up our existence. We live to love.

 

That said, I also define myself as a Christian. I personally don’t like the title “religious”, because religion is a framework created by man to try and reach a higher state. Christianity is all about trusting God and developing a romance with Him. I prefer not to use the title “spiritual” either, mainly because THAT can get confused with spiritualist, which I am not.

 

Now, I realize that many people have issues with being called “Christian” and some argue that we should just scrap the name and start over. I don’t buy that. How about we just live in such a way, that we positively redefine “Christian”?

 

I don’t want people to hear “what I am” and naturally assume that I am corny, outdated, frumpy-looking, unrealistic, a pessimist, a bigot, or boring.

 

I want people to get to know me as a person, then, if they happen to ask, “What are you?”, I’ll tell them. And maybe the next time they hear someone is a Christian, they might have a more open idea of what that might look like.

 

Who knows? It could be a wacky person who likes poetry and Emo-rock, lives in jeans and hates Southern Gospel music. Or not…

 

-Just a thought

 

Powered by Plinky

 

 

About goatgirlbookworm

My name is Toni Cross, and I was raised on a farm in the far north of the United States. I love to read and write and I hope to use those hobbies in a greater way in the days to come. One of my passions is using whatever influence I have to make a difference in the world.

4 responses to “I Believe in _________, just call me a __________.

  1. Some “things” are so profoundly beautiful that there are no words to do them justice…like the picture of the little girl!

    Could it be that it’s like the expression,

    “If you have to ask,you can’t afford it” ?

    In that in the moment we name it, or seek to define it,we have diminished it.

  2. slpmartin

    Lovely photograph to go along with your comments….enjoyed both.

Leave a Reply

