Posted on

Crying and Screaming… By Toni Cross

Did you hear me scream through my tears last night?

Will you hold me back or will you help me fight?

Do you see the rage burning in my soul?

Can you help me out, can you make me whole?

I am drowning, slipping out of reach…

Will you reach your hand across the breach?

The dark is real and thick and heady…

My lungs collapse but I’m not ready.

Not ready to die, without ever living…

Not ready to leave this world so unforgiving.

Show me something pure, show me something true…

Give hope to breathe, give me a day that’s new.

About goatgirlbookworm

My name is Toni Cross, and I was raised on a farm in the far north of the United States. I love to read and write and I hope to use those hobbies in a greater way in the days to come. One of my passions is using whatever influence I have to make a difference in the world.

4 responses to “Crying and Screaming… By Toni Cross

  1. slpmartin

    Toni this was a very powerful poem…the emotions in it were raw and so very real. Kudos!

    • Thank you, Charles! This was a poem that just kind of happened. Somedays I sit in front of the computer screen trying to rack my brain for anything that sounds remotely poetic and other times, it seems like the poems almost write themselves.

Leave a Reply

