Posted on

kids havin’ kids… by Toni L.A. Cross

i saw a baby girl
just plopped down
on the cold hard
dirty
floor
her mama was just a child
more concerned with
her game on the computer
than the old gum wrapper
her baby was chewin' on
i shook my head
dear Lord,
it's such a shame
but what can
lil' ol' me do?
so many kids
out there havin' kids
for the welfare money
or the novelty
or
cuz they be
somebody else's lil' girl
wit' no daddy
 went lookin'
for love in the wrong ways
what can i do
all by my lonesome?

About goatgirlbookworm

My name is Toni Cross, and I was raised on a farm in the far north of the United States. I love to read and write and I hope to use those hobbies in a greater way in the days to come. One of my passions is using whatever influence I have to make a difference in the world.

2 responses to “kids havin’ kids… by Toni L.A. Cross

  1. slpmartin

    Such sad stories are more common than they should be throughout the world…I wonder what prorities our leaders have set regarding such issues or is just another problem to be ignored?

    • I don’t know that it is so much a problem for the goverment to fix. The main issue is that families are not functioning properly. If anything, the goverment’s various attempts to help (aka welfare), often make things even worse. And don’t even get me started on the fostercare system…

Leave a Reply

