Posted on

Yael Poetry Collection: Monday Poetry Potluck

This collection of poetry is based on the story of Yael (also known as Jael). You can find the full account here and here.

I wrote these for Jingle’s Poetry Potluck. Please be sure to check out all the wonderful entries by other participants.

Yael: Queen of the Wild Goats

A goat has a crown of polished horn

Wild weapons with which they are born

Yael was one of them

A lone gazelle, a raw stone gem

He barged into her inner tent

The frail veil of decency was rent

Destiny  clutched in her callused hand

Submit to fate or take a stand

She wove her web with sensuous skill

Concealed disdain by her sheer will

A goblet of cream and a soft bed

A hammer poised high and a shattered head

She saved a nation in the course of events

She won a place in her enemy’s laments

Her name immortal in history’s halls

No mere graffiti on timeless walls

 

 

Fragile Triumph: Haiku

fragile triumph

desert wind-blown wild goat

yael stands silent

 

 

 

Accidental Heroine: Cinquain

warrior
accidental heroine
swing impact thud
panic victory disgust relief
warrior
About goatgirlbookworm

My name is Toni Cross, and I was raised on a farm in the far north of the United States. I love to read and write and I hope to use those hobbies in a greater way in the days to come. One of my passions is using whatever influence I have to make a difference in the world.

20 responses to “Yael Poetry Collection: Monday Poetry Potluck

  1. Jingle

    so glad to have you share your work…
    very powerful shots.
    love it.

  2. Jingle

    your goat image takes my breath away…
    well done.

  3. I love it. I just read this in Judges this week. Well done. You hammer your point through. (pun intended.)

  4. I’m inspired by your interest in Bible characters. It’s encouraging. Great poem.

    Naaman Hills
    http://naamanhills.wordpress.com

  5. tekia ⋅

    Enjoyed my read. Nice flow and great imagery too. Nice work!!

  6. What a wonderful read…you are so talented my friend. Thanks for linking with Potluck 🙂 xx

  7. the 1st one just too good….

    Her name immortal in history’s halls

    No mere graffiti on timeless walls
    thats like the perfect ending….

    cheers!!!
    my pot luck
    http://wiserskydiver.wordpress.com/2010/09/10/hero/
    http://wiserskydiver.wordpress.com/2010/08/27/blade-in-my-hand/

  8. Jingle

    Thanks for supporting poetry potluck,
    Happy Thursday,
    Hope to see you next Monday…

    sign in to follow us if you can,
    ‘your poetry rocks!

  9. riddles

    I couldnt agree with you more…

Leave a Reply

