Posted on

The Bliss of Wasting Hot Water…

When Plinky.com asked me "What's the most wasteful thing you do each day?", I didn't even have to stop and think…

Heavy Rain Shower

Every day when I get up, I stumble into the bathroom and take a very long, hot, steamy, and contemplative shower.

It is my sacred "me time". I think, I wake up, I daydream, I compose poems in my mind or ponder the night's dreams…

And I waste an obscene amount of costly hot water. An online calculator claims that just one of my heavenly average showers probably uses 100-150 gallons of water!

Al Gore is probably going to put a price on my head after this gets published, but guess what? I really don't care!

If I miss my morning shower, the whole day feels wrong. Its like having a pebble in my shoe and not being able to clear it out.

When I was a kid, living at home, we had a woodstove hot water system. It had a 20 gallon tank. I emptied it in no time, despite the fact that we had one of those wimpy "energy efficient" shower heads. In a household with five people who needed showers, I was banished to taking my shower last… no problem for me… that meant sleeping later!

Somehow, I still haven't learned. Oh well, at least I'm the only one showering in the mornings now…

Here's to happy mornings and hot water!

Powered by Plinky

About goatgirlbookworm

My name is Toni Cross, and I was raised on a farm in the far north of the United States. I love to read and write and I hope to use those hobbies in a greater way in the days to come. One of my passions is using whatever influence I have to make a difference in the world.

2 responses to “The Bliss of Wasting Hot Water…

  1. slpmartin

    If that is your only vice…I think you’re quite okay. 😉

Leave a Reply

