Posted on

What can man do to me?

This morning I had a thought while I was showering. Most people kinda edge around the book of Job, mainly because we don’t really understand why God would be so “unfair” as to let all that stuff happen to him.

But then I realized- that is the point of it all. It wasn’t some kind of weird test- God was just showing Job- and all of us- that Satan really couldn’t touch anything that really “mattered”. And you think… wait a sec, Satan messed with everything in Job’s life!

Well, did he? He couldn’t take away Job’s relationship with God, which was the only thing that would have more than a temporary effect, in the view of eternity. That is what Satan was really after, and God was saying, “See? You can never mess with My relationship with My kids and you can’t do any lasting harm.”

The only person who can jeopardize our relationship with God is us ourselves.

So, therefore, we really don’t have anything in the whole world to be afraid of.

I never really understood that scripture that says, “The Lord is with me, I’m not afraid. What can man do to me?” I was always like, “Dude. There are TONS of things man can do to me! Are you flippin’ kidding??”

But really, there isn’t anything that people or the devil can do to us. Not that has permanent consequences.

I mean, kill me? I go to heaven.

Torture me? I experience the presence of God like never before.

Hate me? Give me a chance to love, like I have never had before.

Keep me from sleeping? I stay up and pray.

Plant strife between family members? Give me a chance to overcome and discover a deeper level of relationship.

About goatgirlbookworm

My name is Toni Cross, and I was raised on a farm in the far north of the United States. I love to read and write and I hope to use those hobbies in a greater way in the days to come. One of my passions is using whatever influence I have to make a difference in the world.

Leave a Reply

