Posted on

Doomed? By Toni Cross


Reign of tyranny exalted by history
Veneered reality constructed most wistfully
How quickly we forget all the blood that was let
And the lives crushed beneath such smothering debt
Heed the whispered warning of dusty ancient mourning
No more false gold-leafing or deathtrap adorning
Are we doomed to fall prey to the fate of olden day?
Just destined to slay ourselves in this way?
About goatgirlbookworm

My name is Toni Cross, and I was raised on a farm in the far north of the United States. I love to read and write and I hope to use those hobbies in a greater way in the days to come. One of my passions is using whatever influence I have to make a difference in the world.

4 responses to “Doomed? By Toni Cross

  1. Wow Dear Toni,

    Very stoic, in the most revered and respectful way friend; I am all this due to the wonderful gratitude I’ve got in finding your peace/piece if you like (I like peace), as I’m the better for it dear friend!;-)

    All my best, bliss, blessings, peace and joy my friend! I’m going to be back to indulge in checking your most creative and truly talented muses, writings, and no doubt can’t wait to check your “short’s section (short stories).;-) I have some early short material, limited, very limited success yet I am in it for long haul this time dear friend…

    Bliss, Peace and Infinite Blessings in Success,
    R.;-)

    PS Would be honored and grateful indeed in hearing your words towards me!!!;-) 😉 😉 😉

  2. slpmartin

    An excellent question to pose at the end of the poem…one which should be asked.

Leave a Reply

