Posted on

My Life: The Short-short Version

Plinky.com asked me to write one sentence that summarizes each year of my life so far…

Grow Wallpaper

Year One: Learning to walk is dangerous, as evidenced by my broken leg.

Year Two: Baby flatlander me becomes an “almost Vermonter”.

Year Three: A profound moment at the beach: I suddenly realize how small I am in the immensity of the universe.

Year Four: Headstart is an experience in socialization.

Year Five: Listening to lots of phonics tapes on my mom’s cassette tape Walkman equals homeschool kindergarten and we get our first foster care child.

Year Six: My first and only year in the school system.

Year Seven: My mom starts babysitting a girl my age so I wouldn’t be lonely and she becomes the bane of my existence.

Year Eight: My parents decide to rent out our house before securing another place for us to live, so we camp out in a field all summer.

Year Nine: My city slicker parents start farming with a how-to book in one hand and a roll of duct tape in the other.

Year Ten: Lots of tree climbing and running wild in the woods.

Year Eleven: I almost die of a ruptured appendix and then we take in two foster children who are to become my adopted brother and sister.

Year Twelve: My “official entrance into womanhood” and all the emotions and melodrama that go along with it…

Year Thirteen: I am NOT a teenager… I am NOT a teenager…

Year Fourteen: People die, I imagine myself an atheistic philosopher, and I meet my wonderful friend and mentor, who helps me back towards sanity and God…

Year Fifteen: More of the same…

Year Sixteen: I head off for the Middle East and return after two weeks of exploration and wonder, I also get my GED.

Year Seventeen: We move to a “big” city of 5,000 from our small town of 748 families.

Year Eighteen: I get two jobs and move out.

Year Nineteen: I meet an intriguing man named Lance.

Year Twenty: I marry aforementioned man.

Year Twenty-one: More of the same.

Year Twenty-two: I become the Sunday School Administrator at my local church.

Year Twenty-three: I get pregnant and we lose the baby after one trimester.

Powered by Plinky

About goatgirlbookworm

My name is Toni Cross, and I was raised on a farm in the far north of the United States. I love to read and write and I hope to use those hobbies in a greater way in the days to come. One of my passions is using whatever influence I have to make a difference in the world.

One response to “My Life: The Short-short Version

  1. slpmartin

    Thanks for the biography…the story will continue.

Leave a Reply

