Posted on

The Wonder of Discovering Brontë

For the past two weeks, I have been on vacation. Being a librarian, you would think that the last place I’d want to end up is at a library.

However strange it may seem, that was one of the first places I went. It was a wonderful experience to wander through the stacks as merely your average invisible reader! No one asking me questions… no rushing or shelving to be done. I meandered my way through 821 in the Dewey Decimal System, lovingly trailing my fingers along the names of familiar poets. Then, I froze. Sitting there, looking lonesome and slightly mis-shelved, was a volume of selected poems by Emily Brontë! I LOVE the Brontë sisters, but I never realized that one of them wrote poetry!

Scooping it up like a treasured jewel, along with a collection of Dylan Thomas, I made a beeline for the checkout desk.

You may remember that I have a notebook which I have spent the past year and a half inscribing my favorite poetry into.

I copied two of Thomas and Brontë’s poems… but picking only TWO of her poems was HARD! “Faith and Despondency” is a long poem. It took me at least an hour to write it out and I had to resort to white-out once. Finally, I finished.

This afternoon, I returned them. As I watched Brontë’s poems disappearing into the slot, I felt a twinge of loss. I do believe that I’ve found my next book purchase…

About goatgirlbookworm

My name is Toni Cross, and I was raised on a farm in the far north of the United States. I love to read and write and I hope to use those hobbies in a greater way in the days to come. One of my passions is using whatever influence I have to make a difference in the world.

2 responses to “The Wonder of Discovering Brontë

  1. slpmartin

    There is nothing better than finding a book that you didn’t know existed…I have yet to find a library or bookstore that I don’t love.

  2. Great post thanks. I really enjoyed it very much. You have a great blog here. Thanks again for sharing.

    Love commenting, blogging, or writing? We would love for you to join us!

    – Writers Wanted –

Leave a Reply

