Posted on

She Tells No Spoken Lies, by Toni L.A. Cross

she laughs and always smiles

so carefully composed

while secretly, she dies

no one sees her graveyard

in still lurking shadows

deceiving carefree eyes

they do not see her pain

a great and looming past

that clouds all inner skies

plain bliss is on display

they think that all is well

she tells no spoken lies

About ReallyDoComeTrue

My name is Toni and I was raised on a farm in the far north of the United States. I love to read and write and I hope to use those hobbies in a greater way in the days to come. One of my passions is using whatever influence I have to make a difference in the world.

5 responses to “She Tells No Spoken Lies, by Toni L.A. Cross

  1. Pawan Hira (awakeningpsyche) ⋅

    Depth in your poetry about her pain is relevant….expressed it beautifully. and I can’t say anything more…it’s just pure display of emotions and it only comes from heart.. it’s good to lighten up yourself by releasing the words….:)
    Peace and love

  2. slpmartin

    So many wear the mask that hides what real feelings abide inside…it is indeed a way to manage the social contacts…a fine verse on that.

  3. Virginia

    again & again your poetry ZAPs the heart. wow. thank you (i think!) This is so challenging – doesn’t putting on a blissful face when you’re dying inside constitute a lie of some sort? (i’m from the south, we do this ALL THE TIME – ‘hower ya’ll doin?’ Fiine,: )

  4. Thanks, Virginia! I think it is something that pretty much everyone does from time to time, trust me, us northerners do it too. And yes, it is a form of lying…

Leave a comment