Posted on

I Sold My First Story!

I’m so excited! Over the past few years, I’ve gotten less shy, putting my scribblings here on this blog for the world to see. But, I was still afraid to submit anything to be published. Secretly, I was terrified of being rejected. Finally, a few months ago, I gathered up my courage and sent a story and two poems out to a local paper. Weeks went by and I didn’t hear a word. I gloomily accepted the fact that they must have rejected my story.

Then, the last Wednesday in October, I came home from work and found an envelope waiting for me on the kitchen counter. It contained a check for $45 and a letter of acceptance! Click here  to view a PDF of my story, as seen in the Green Mountain Trading Post.

About goatgirlbookworm

My name is Toni Cross, and I was raised on a farm in the far north of the United States. I love to read and write and I hope to use those hobbies in a greater way in the days to come. One of my passions is using whatever influence I have to make a difference in the world.

4 responses to “I Sold My First Story!

  1. That was beautiful….congratulations.

  2. slpmartin

    Congrats…you’ve written some wonderful things…can’t wait until your first book. 🙂

Leave a Reply

