Posted on

A Mini Book Rant on Fang: Book 6 of the Maximum Ride Series

(WARNING: contains spoilers!)

Please forgive the fact that this review/rant is in no apparent order and know ahead of time, that if you haven’t read the book- what I am about to say will make NO sense! 

Okay, first of all- I totally called it on this one. When I heard that Fang dies in this book, my immediate reaction was “Yeah, right. Sure Patterson will kill him, but he’ll resurrect him shortly after. Just like he did with Ari the first time.” Sure enough Max plunges a shot of adrenaline into him and he wakes up and says ” ‘ssup?” (Which seems to be Patterson’s favorite new slang…)

Then, there is Dylan. Annoying and shallow, yet appealingly helpless. And annoyingly hunkish. Why, Mr. Patterson, did you introduce Dylan? The flock was perfect just as they were! Or is that the point?

And I guess I am realizing that my inner teenager is almost dead. Max and Fang seem so old most of the time, that I was totally like, Gee guys! Get hitched and put yourselves out of misery! But then there is the little detail that they are 15…

But Fang taking off for 20 years?!? Hello?? Totally NOT cool.

And WHAT THE HECK is up with Angel? She is my most UNfavorite character! I like the crazy evil scientist dude better than her!

Plus, was it really necessary to bring dumb ‘ol Erasers back into the picture? Couldn’t we at least have a creature with a more formidable NAME? (I never did get WHY they call genetically engineered werewolf monsters ERASERS. It is like some stupid 3rd grade knock-knock joke.)

Max seriously needs to give poor Jeb a chance… granted, he is a somewhat lousy dad… but he really does try!

About ReallyDoComeTrue

My name is Toni and I was raised on a farm in the far north of the United States. I love to read and write and I hope to use those hobbies in a greater way in the days to come. One of my passions is using whatever influence I have to make a difference in the world.

One response to “A Mini Book Rant on Fang: Book 6 of the Maximum Ride Series

  1. Kate ⋅

    I’m so going to start reading these whenever you post. And I agree with you on all fronts there. I totally do the whole “just hook up already and get on with your life” and then it’s like…oh yeah. Have you ever read the adult versions of these books? I think When the Wind Blows and the Lake House? They are good…definitely very “adult-ish” but awesome. In those they talk about how even though the bird kids are young they are more maturely along than we would be. So in that the girl Max (not the same really) and her guy (some odd name) totally “hook up” if you catch my drift. She even lays an egg!! Ha ha…sorry if I just gave too much away if you haven’t read them and want to!!

Leave a comment